Go Back  

Crazy Lady Hitches a Ride on Top of a Car! 

Current Rating:

Join NowJoin Now
Old 04-15-2015, 02:00 AM
★ Server Supporter ★
Poster Rank:407
Contributions: 5
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 443 Post(s)
Activity Longevity
8/20 5/20
Today Posts
11/11 sssss1741
Crazy Lady Hitches a Ride on Top of a Car!

I have shared this story from the Leicester Mercury, my local paper. It's great for two reasons. Firstly, I used to be a Staff Nurse at the Bradgate Mental Health Unit. Secondly, it's so brilliantly random! I do not wish to be seen as mocking those with/or mental health issues, which I continue to support despite leaving mental health nursing 10 years ago.

No images with the original article, so I've added some, for artistic effect. Don't you wish Hayley didn't have a dash-cam? The footage would have been amazing!! PS- for all you American's out there, a car bonnet is British for a car hood.

Woman's high-speed horror with an escaped patient on her car bonnet

A woman has described how she drove at speeds of up to 50mph after an escaped mental health unit patient climbed on to her bonnet and would not get off.

Hayley Newbold, 26, was terrified when the woman jumped onto her car as she drove home alone in the early hours of Sunday.

She spotted her at the side of the road and slowed down believing her to be in distress.

Panicking and frightened, Hayley pleaded with the woman to get off the car and gradually built up her speed.

However, the woman managed to cling on, despite the car weaving and reaching a speed of almost 50mph.

It happened as she drove along Groby Road, Leicester at 1am.

The woman had been reported missing from the Bradgate mental health unit at Glenfield Hospital a few hours earlier.

As Hayley approached Gilroes Cemetery, heading away from the city, she noticed a woman at the side of the road.

Hayley, who lives in the area, said: "I slowed down as the person seemed very indecisive about what to do.